About us

UTC Trustees

Our Trustees run the UTC and provide strategic direction and support. They come from a variety of backgrounds and through their expertise assist the UTC in delivering its vision.

Professor Gary Holmes

  • Chair of Trustees
  • Pro Vice-Chancellor
  • University of Sunderland
  • Governor of Tyne Met College of FE
  • Vice Chair of Governors at Ponteland High School with no business interests

David Land

  • Vice Chair of Trustees
  • Representative for Gestamp Tallent
  • No business interests

Shirley Atkinson

  • Vice-Chancellor-University of Sunderland
  • Directorships of all University of Sunderland Subsidiary Companies listed below:
  • University of Sunderland Enterprises Ltd
  • Learning World Ltd
  • Learning North East Ltd
  • NGC Trading Ltd
  • University of Sunderland London Campus Ltd
  • Sunderland Intern Factory Ltd
  • University of Sunderland Services Ltd
  • Usefine Ltd
  • Globalscreen Ltd
  • National Glass Centre
  • Governor of University of Sunderland College
  • Memberships of Professional Bodies
  • Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy

Darren Cumner

  • Manufacturing Plant Manager-Hitachi Rail Europe

Andrew Jordon

  • Executive Principal-Northern Education Trust

Peter Gallone

  • Managing Director UK-Gestamp Tallent

Ian Neal

  • Dean of Education and Society-University of Sunderland
  • Directorships
  • Dunelm Training Ltd (08345333)
  • Dunelm Holistics Ltd (07062277)
  • Castle View Enterprise Academy (06268570)
  • External Examiner – University of Highlands and Islands (SC148203)
  • Membership of Professional Bodies
  • Higher Education Academy (Principal Fellow)

Haley Whalley

  • Parent Trustee

Louise Shepherd

  • Parent Trustee

Mike Reid

  • Staff Trustee

Tom Dower

  • Principal-UTC South Durham
  • No Business Interests

To contact our Trustees please get in touch with Becky Lane, PA to Gary Holmes
becky.lane@sunderland.ac.uk Telephone: 0191 515 242.  University of Sunderland, Pro Vice Chancellors Suite, 2nd Floor Edinburgh Building, Chester Road, Sunderland, SR1 3SD